For Faculty

Programs for Faculty

Faculty Affiliate Program

Program description: The purpose of the Faculty Affiliate Program is to create a listing and foster a community of UNC-Chapel Hill inter-disciplinary scholars whose research includes the study of African Americans and the broader African diaspora. Faculty Affiliates are UNC-CH faculty and postdoctoral fellows whose research agendas over the past five years include an estimated 30% focus on African Americans and/or the broader African Diaspora. Certain benefits are available to Faculty Affiliates such as assistance with grant development, scholarly networking opportunities and access to specific IAAR resources and events.

Learn more →

Faculty Fellowship Program

Program description: The Institute of African American Research launched its Faculty Fellowship Program in 2014. The purpose of the program is to support current, rigorous research by UNC-CH faculty engaged in studies of African Americans and the African Diaspora. Priority is given to applicants who are developing or completing a research project but applications from all researchers in the target field are welcome. IAAR Faculty Fellowships are for one academic year. They provide funding that can be used to support research activities or to supplement faculty salary. This year’s application is currently available:

Faculty Fellowship App Form 2015

Learn more →

Visiting Scholar Program

Program description: The Visiting Scholar Program provides an unpaid short-term residency opportunity for academic researchers who are based at other institutions and wish to make use of the IAAR and UNC’s resources toward the support of their research projects. Visiting Scholars must be working on projects that support the IAAR mission to cultivate engagement with critical questions and innovative and timely studies about people of African descent. Scholars may be in residence at the IAAR for anywhere from one week to one academic year. The length of a scholar’s visit is determined by the IAAR director on a case-by-case basis, and is contingent upon the scholar’s needs and IAAR available resources.

Learn more →